

Andy Beshear

CABINET FOR HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES

Eric Friedlander

275 East Main Street, 5W-A Frankfort, Kentucky 40621 Phone: (502) 564-7042 Fax: (502) 564-7091

Statewide News Release

Media Contact: Kendra Steele 502.352.3586

kendra.steele@kv.gov

Beth Fisher 502.229.6529

beth.fisher@ky.gov

Disaster SNAP Benefits Approved for Kentucky Counties Following EF-4 Tornado, Severe Storms

Residents and those employed in six counties can apply for emergency food assistance through Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. SNAP beneficiaries are eligible for replacement and could be eligible for supplementals benefits due to power outages.

FRANKFORT, KY (**June 2, 2025**) -- Residents of six Kentucky counties who were affected by severe weather, including the devastating EF-4 tornado that hit southeastern Kentucky on May 16, 2025, are eligible for Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) benefits, approved June 2, 2025, by the U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service.

D-SNAP offers short-term food assistance to individuals and families in counties that receive a federal disaster declaration that includes individual assistance. President Donald Trump issued a major disaster declaration for Kentucky on May 24, 2025, following the severe weather and tornadoes.

Additionally, residents who currently receive SNAP benefits can request and apply for a replacement of benefits due to power outages and other impacts. Any SNAP recipient can request replacement benefits whenever food purchased with SNAP benefits is destroyed due to a household disaster.

Those residing or working in the following six counties are eligible to apply for D-SNAP assistance from June 5, 2025, through June 12, 2025: **Caldwell, Laurel, Pulaski, Russell, Trigg** and **Union.**

"Team Kentucky is grateful for this emergency funding to help feed Kentuckians who have been devastated by this historic storm, "said Gov. Andy Beshear. "We've been through a lot already



this year, and it's important we continue to lift each other up and work together to provide every resource possible to recover and rebuild."

Prospective applicants should call the Department for Community-Based Services' call center for D-SNAP at **1-855-306-8959**; this is the fastest way to receive benefits. Applications may be made at a DCBS office at the addresses below from Monday to Saturday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and are closed on Sunday, June 8, 2025. The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) sites in Laurel and Pulaski County will be taking DSNAP applications, Monday through Saturday, 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Caldwell County

300 MicBeth Drive Princeton, KY 42445

Laurel County

31 S. Laurel Road London, 40743

DRC Site Laurel County

120 College Park Dr. London, 40741

Pulaski County

650 North Main St., Suite 250 Somerset, 42501

DRC Site Pulaski County

2292 S. Highway 27 Somerset, 42501

Russell County

650 N. Main St. Jamestown, 42629-0770

Trigg County

277 Commerce St. Cadiz, 42211

Union County

717 U.S. Hwy. 60 East Morganfield, 42437

Day	Date 2025	Application Times (Call Services) Eastern Standard Time 1-855-306- 8959	Hours for County offices/D-SNAP site oper for applications and pick up D-SNAP cards	
Thursday	June 5	8:00 am-4:30 pm	8:00 am-4:30 pm	9:00am-7:00pm
Friday	June 6	8:00 am-4:30 pm	8:00 am-4:30 pm	9:00am-7:00pm
Saturday	June 7	9:00 am-2:00 pm	8:00 am-4:30 pm	9:00am-7:00pm
Sunday	June 8	CLOSED	CLOSED	DRC site open but will not be taking DSNAP applications or issuing D-SNAP cards
Monday	June 9	8:00 am-4:30 pm	8:00 am-4:30 pm	9:00am-7:00pm
Tuesday	June 10	8:00 am-4:30 pm	8:00 am-4:30 pm	9:00am-7:00pm
Wednesday	June 11	8:00 am-4:30 pm	8:00 am-4:30 pm	9:00am-7:00pm
Thursday	June 12	8:00 am-4:30 pm	8:00 am-4:30 pm	9:00am-7:00pm

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in designated counties can apply for additional types of assistance by registering online at DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY (1-800-462-7585) for deaf or hard-of-hearing individuals. The toll-free numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice. The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) sites in Laurel and Pulaski County will be taking DSNAP applications, Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

A list of storm resources may be found here: https://governor.ky.gov/tornadoresources

For more information about applying for benefits or finding resources in your community, please visit Kynect.

###

Information on how the state is working to improve the lives and health of our people is available at CHFS.ky.gov. The cabinet can also be followed on Facebook, X, Instagram, and LinkedIn.